I Have A Candy Crush

If you are anything like the gazillion people who use smart phones, iPads, tablets etc…then you probably spent a considerable amount of time today playing Candy Crush.

And I think that is awesome!

Here’s why.

My Aunt Sara lives across an ocean and many many miles from me in Israel.  The last time I saw her was at least thirteen (maybe fourteen?) years ago.  We talk perhaps a few times a year, usually before holidays and on birthdays.  To be fair, she always calls me to wish me a happy birthday and my mother has to call me to remind me to call my Aunt to wish her one. (I know – once again I am sucky).

Well, along comes Candy Crush and lo and behold her name regularly appears there so that I am regularly reminded that halfway across the world my Aunt and I have a shared passion (obsession?) for something.

I can confidently say that I have sort of established regular contact with my Aunt Sara through this remarkably addictive past time.

Now whenever I tap to play out my five lives, there is that cute little envelope in the upper left hand corner, usually containing a note from Aunt Sara giving me a life.  I do not necessarily request this life.  But, still,  she always make sure to give me one.  And, of course, I her.

In this way, I think of her more often than I would have during the course of my day.

Now to all you naysayers out there who are aghast that a game is needed to remind me of a relative I say – YOU HAVE IT ALL WRONG.  YOU ARE JUST PLAIN WRONG! So there.

The fact is there isn’t a day that goes by when I don’t think about her or her family. That was before Candy Crush and continues to this day and I can’t wait for the day when I get to see her again.

Until then we’ll have Candy Crush.

4 thoughts on “I Have A Candy Crush

Leave a Reply

