The Rude

The other day this girl said something to me that was remarkably rude and obnoxious.  She did not think it was rude.  In fact, according to several people I know – who don’t necessarily know each other –  said girl bears a reputation for being rude and saying obnoxious things.

When I told one friend of mine what RudeGirl said,  she was eager to know how I responded.

“Nothing. Just stood there staring.  She thought that she was doing me a favor by telling me what she told me,” I responded.   It was true.  I was so shocked by what RudeGirl had just said that I did just stand there, mouth agape, while she continued to blather on.

And the truth is that even if I wasn’t recovering from the shock and awe of these rude comments, I still wouldn’t have said anything.

I don’t like confrontation – unless absolutely necessary – especially when it is someone I have to see often.

Though there are plenty of people in this world to whom I only wish to communicate with them via my middle finger.  And some of them I even do.

It took me a long time to learn some basic rules of diplomacy.  There are times when it’s okay to respond in kind. And there are times when it’s okay to remain silent while thinking evil thoughts about the person standing before you.

Lately though I’ve been wanting more and more to do away with the latter and I find it takes a lot out of me to keep from shouting more colorful comments to the more offensive members of humanity.

Which got me thinking about Iran and John Kerry – fyi, not a fan of either.  Like I said, I’m all for diplomacy. But diplomacy clearly is not working and will never work with this odious, offensive,  oppressive regime.  So there comes a time when you just have to give Iran the middle finger, kind of like what…well, actually exactly like what they are doing to us.  It’s not as if it’s going to make a difference in the outcome (and don’t kid yourself if you think it is  – cuz it’s NOT).

Not that I’m comparing RudeGirl to the Iranian regime…just saying that there comes a point when it’s okay to give The Rude right back.

2 thoughts on “The Rude

  1. LOL, I read this and went “what did I say now?” I’m bad about my brutal honesty, but I try really hard not to be purposely rude! I know this post isn’t about me directly, but it is a good reminder for me! I don’t have a filter on my mouth – and do prefer honesty – but not when it comes at the expense of others!
    I read a blog the other day about those that like to stir the pot. “Friends” that come up to you and let you know “You have to hear what so and so said about you the other day…” and how they now listen and respond with “Really? They said that? And what did you say to them?” It puts the ball back in their court, why did so and so feel comfortable telling them that and why didn’t they stand up for you? I thought that was a brilliant way to deflect and show the pot-stirrer that they were in the wrong.

    Okay – enough about me! Great post, glad you kept your mouth (and fingers) shut as you felt that was the appropriate response and I hope that person isn’t in your life too much!

Leave a Reply

